County Courts in London

County courts operate in a somewhat unique manner in London, just as many of the capital’s mechanisms and features are unique. While other major cities will have a centralised county or combined court, London has a number of county courts operating within it, serving different parts of of the city.

Fortunately, to avoid any overlap or confusion, many of these courts have clearly defined areas that they will cover, according to the post codes under which such areas fall.

There are exceptions to these divisions – for example, Central London County Court is equipped for work that few other courts will undertake, such as patent and chancery cases, and will take on cases from further afield.

Here is a basic breakdown of which courts operate in which areas.

Court Post Codes Covered
Bow County Court E3, E6, E7, E10, E11, E12, E13, E14, E15, E16, E17, E18
Clerkenwell and Shoreditch County Court E1, E2, E3, E5, E8, E9, E14
EC1, EC2, EC3, EC12
N1, N2, N4, N5, N6, N7, N8, N10, N15, N16, N19, N22
NW1, NW5
W2, W4
WC1, WC12
Croydon County Court CR2
SE5, SE10, SE19, SE20, SE25, SE26
SW16, SW17, SW19, SW20
Edmonton County Court E3, E4, E9, E14
N4, N7, N9, N11, N13, N14, N15, N16, N17, N18, N19, N21, N22
Kingston-upon-Thames County Court SE19, SE20
SW15, SW16, SW17, SW18, SW19, SW20
Lambeth County Court SE1, SE4, SE5, SE7, SE8, SE9 SE11, SE14, SE15, SE16, SE17, SE19, SE21, SE22, SE23, SE24, SE25, SE26, SE27
SW2, SW3, SW4, SW8, SW9, SW16
Mayor’s and City of London Court E1
EC1, EC2, EC3, EC4
WC2, WC3
Wandsworth County Court SE15
SW2, SW4, SW8, SW9, SW11, SW12, SW13, SW14, SW15, SW16, SW17, SW18, SW19
TW9, TW10
West London County Court SW1, SW3, SW5, SW6, SW7, SW10
W3, W4, W6, W8, W11, W12, W14
Willesden County Court HA0
N9, N10
NW1, NW2, NW3, NW4, NW6, NW7, NW9, NW10, NW11
W3, W9, W10, W11, W12
Woolwich County Court SE2, SE3, SE7, SE8, SE9, SE10, SE12, SE13, SE14, SE15, SE16, SE18, SE19, SE23, SE26, SE28

Visit the London County Courts category of our County Courts Directory for more information.